close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Never hunted a bear - looking for insight

Discussion in 'MichiganBear.com' started by ramitupurs84, Jan 8, 2017.

1. ramitupurs84

ramitupurs84

A buddy and I are doing a hog hunt in a couple of weeks down in Texas. It's my first hunt I'm flying out for. It's his second. I hunt far more than he does though. So I'm doing the grunt work on this one. I'm already thinking ahead for something in 2018 or beyond. A bear hunt seems like a good opportunity. Problem is neither of know squat about bears. I'm a MI resident, he's a former MI resident now living in OH. Neither of us have points given neither of us have applied. I've done my best to read before posting too.

I do not have the time to bait stands or any access to private land. I'm a shotgun zone hunter. Nothing against hounds, but I'd rather sit over bait.

Ideally, a high success rate with a good time would be something we'd want. I don't think I'd need someone to sit with me or him.

I just don't know where good areas are, if it makes sense to even do this in MI or take a ride over the pond to Canada. I'm really nervous getting a

This might be a weird calibers to choose for a bear hunt but he's a big 50 Beowulf fan and I'm a 450 bushmaster fan. Most distances I've research from guide services is from 10-50 yards over bait. Easy enough for our setups in that scenario.

Thoughts?

2. Luv2hunteup

Luv2hunteup

If you want to go this year book a hunt in Canada. Alberta you can kill two. Manitoba has big bear plus color phase. Ontario has good numbers. Vancouver Island has it all but is a high dollar hunt.

3. ramitupurs84

ramitupurs84

Definitely not this year. I won't have the vacation stash with the hog hunt/deer season to do it. I'd like to drive where ever we go too.

4. sourdough44

sourdough44