Frabil Ranger Solo or Fish Trap Pro

Discussion in 'IceFishingMichigan.com' started by WEEKEND WARRIOR, Jan 23, 2003.

1. Hello
    I have the Shappal 4000 shanty now. I am looking to buy a smaller one because the wind has been to strong. Reeds Sporting Goods has the Fish Trap Pro and the Frabill Ranger Solo
    Does anybody have any input on these. Thanks in advance
    Duane

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. WW,

I've been using the solo for the last two years. It's a nice shanty. At the time, I bought it over the Trap because I felt it had a better fabric. However, I noticed the traps are made with a different material this year. The Frabill weighs more, and more weight means it's tougher to pull when there's snow on the ice... However, it's a breeze to pull compared to my XLTwin!

Mike

3. I have been looking at the XLtwin, are you saying it is a pain????
    I currently have a fishtrap and need to go larger.

4. My Twin is about four years old, and has the older style sled - the front is shaped just like the back. Snow builds up in front of it. It's not too bad with two people pulling, but it sucks if your on your own, unless there's no snow on the ice. That's why I bought the solo. The newer models have a 'rake' to the front (like my solo) that makes pulling it much easier.

Hope that helps.

Mike

5. The XLTwin is hard to pull on thick snow I have one also. On ice it's easy. If 2 people pull the Twin then it's easy on anything.

6. Before you go out and buy one of those check out this link.
    I'm right on the verge of buying the small one, I have the sled already, I just can't find a store that has one set up already. I want to actually see it set up before I shell out that kinda dough.

http://www.otteroutdoors.com/dealers.html

7. Thanks for the response guys I saw the ranger solo at cabalas