Go Back   The Michigan Sportsman Forums > Michigan Hunting > Firearms > Shotguns
Home Forums Classifieds Product Reviews Campfire Calendar Calendar MS Links
Register FAQ Blogs Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-26-2012, 06:59 AM
Guide

Photos: 6Users Photo Gallery
Default Remington 887 Nitromag and Slugs

Remove this ad.....
become a Supporting Member today.
I did a search to see if any others had asked, but couldn't find anything.

So, I bought an 887 Nitromag yesterday for waterfowl hunting. First off, lets get over the poo pooing of it, I know that the gun had a lot of problems when it was first produced, but by and large Remington has since fixed it.

I was curious if the gun was capable of firing rifled deer slugs through it? I'm a straight up novice when it comes to waterfowl guns, chokes, and all that business. I can use my .20g for deer hunting no problem, but I'd love to be able to take this gun out for that as well if I'm able to.

I've seen people say I need to get a rifled choke, improved cylinder choke, modified choke, or just remove the choke, so I can use the slugs. I don't want the thing to blow up in my face, so what should I use, if anything?
Old 10-26-2012, 08:22 AM
Michigan Sportsman
Rank Type

Photos: 23Users Photo Gallery

If the gun has back bored barrels then no on the slugs. If not just use imp cylinder choke tube and run foster style slugs thru it. Foster slugs are like the Remington sluggers. Don't use the gun without a choke unless you want to damage the choke threads!
You can purchase a rifled Choke tube if you want to try and shoot expensive sabots but for your set up, foster slugs and imp cylinder or maybe modified chole will be fine for ranges out to maybe 75 yards. Get to range and see how she does.

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine
Remove this ad...  
Old 10-26-2012, 08:36 AM
Guide

Back bored barrels? I've never even heard of that before, how would I determine that?