michigan fishing

Go Back   The Michigan Sportsman Forums > General Discussions > Questions about MI Hunting/Fishing Law
Home Forums Classifieds Product Reviews Campfire Calendar Calendar MS Links
Register FAQ Blogs Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Questions about MI Hunting/Fishing Law Got a question about MI hunting/fishing law that you just can't figure out from the guide book?

Old 04-20-2011, 09:35 PM
Charter Member

Photos: 4Users Photo Gallery
Default Proper Disposal Of An Animal Carcass

Remove this ad.....
become a Supporting Member today.
I've been hunting for a little over 10 years now. The laws I learned were through my hunter safety course as well as from family and other hunting friends throughout the years. One rule that has never come up in a conversation was what the proper way to dispose of an animal carcass was. Until recently when we started hunting public lands while in college. We have only hunted one year and couldn't get a shot at any of the deer we did see so it wasn't ever an issue....this year.

So to keep myself from doing something outside of the law, can someone please tell me the proper way to dispose of a deer or animal carcass? I've read the DNR's version but it doesn't make sense to me.

It states, "Irresponsible dumping of deer carcasses can spread disease and may result in a ticket. Hunters who process their deer should properly dispose of hide, brain and spinal cord, eyes, spleen, tonsils, bones and head in an approved landfill."

Does this mean that I have to take it to the landfill? Or can I just put the remains in the dumpster in a garbage bag?

BTW if this is a REALLY dumb question, my bad
Old 04-21-2011, 05:52 AM
Guide

Good question I am curious as to the proper disposal myself. As in to be within the law.
Posted via Mobile Device
Remove this ad...  
Old 04-21-2011, 06:35 AM
Charter Member