michigan fishing

Go Back   The Michigan Sportsman Forums > Michigan Hunting > Michigan Trapping and Varmint Hunting
Home Forums Classifieds Product Reviews Campfire Calendar Calendar MS Links
Register FAQ Blogs Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-02-2010, 01:47 PM
Tracker

Default how to trap raccoons in the winter

Remove this ad.....
become a Supporting Member today.
i am just getting started in the sport of trapping and know very few sets. I have #1 coil springs, #1.5 coil springs, 160 and 220 conibears. we have property on a river. The river freezes over in places. and there is 40 acres of swampy woods also. I dont know if i should try to make bucket sets, pocket sets or dirt hole sets for the coons. Im going to be able to trap from dec. 26th to jan. 1 i know it is a short time period but i have to go to school after new years weekend. And i wont be able to make it up north until christmas. Thankyou for the help
Old 12-02-2010, 03:22 PM
Guide
Rank Type

My experience with coons are, get at them fast and furious while the weather is still decent. I've had out 10 220 conibear boxes for the past 3 weeks. Caught 18 in the first couple of weeks, then I caught 8 last week, and nothing so far this week.

I've caught them in the dead of winter, just on "nice" winter days (sunny, warm (30 degrees & above)) but not too many.

If anyone knows when they come out, I'd like to hear it, because I pretty much give it up when the weather gets like it is now.
Old 12-02-2010, 05:23 PM
Charter Member

Photos: 13Users Photo Gallery

They come out all winter long. I've caught coon when the low for the night lows were -5, and the highs never got into the teens. You just have to be close to where they are denning. They don't stay in the hole all winter like most believe.

Joe
Old 12-02-2010, 09:06 PM
Charter Member
Rank Type

Photos: 1Users Photo Gallery