michigan fishing

Go Back   The Michigan Sportsman Forums > Michigan Fishing > IceFishingMichigan.com
Home Forums Classifieds Product Reviews Campfire Calendar Calendar MS Links
Register FAQ Blogs Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

IceFishingMichigan.com Now that the cold weather is here it time to get those shanties out.

Old 01-23-2003, 11:55 AM
Master Sportsman

Question Frabil Ranger Solo or Fish Trap Pro

Remove this ad.....
become a Supporting Member today.
Hello
I have the Shappal 4000 shanty now. I am looking to buy a smaller one because the wind has been to strong. Reeds Sporting Goods has the Fish Trap Pro and the Frabill Ranger Solo
Does anybody have any input on these. Thanks in advance
Duane
Old 01-23-2003, 12:02 PM
Charter Member

Photos: 44Users Photo Gallery

WW,

I've been using the solo for the last two years. It's a nice shanty. At the time, I bought it over the Trap because I felt it had a better fabric. However, I noticed the traps are made with a different material this year. The Frabill weighs more, and more weight means it's tougher to pull when there's snow on the ice... However, it's a breeze to pull compared to my XLTwin!

Mike
Remove this ad...  
Old 01-23-2003, 12:10 PM
Guide

Photos: 8Users Photo Gallery

I have been looking at the XLtwin, are you saying it is a pain????
I currently have a fishtrap and need to go larger.
Old 01-23-2003, 12:40 PM
Charter Member

Photos: 44Users Photo Gallery

My Twin is about four years old, and has the older style sled - the front is shaped just like the back. Snow builds up in front of it. It's not too bad with two people pulling, but it sucks if your on your own, unless there's no snow on the ice. That's why I bought the solo. The newer models have a 'rake' to the front (like my solo) that makes pulling it much easier.

Hope that helps.

Mike
Old 01-23-2003, 01:47 PM
Charter Member

Photos: 14Users Photo Gallery