michigan fishing

Go Back   The Michigan Sportsman Forums > General Discussions > Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)
Home Forums Classifieds Product Reviews Campfire Calendar Calendar MS Links
Register FAQ Blogs Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Sound Off (MichiganForums.com) Sound off about anything you want, politics, news, sports. Must be a member for 30 days to post here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2009, 08:31 PM
target-panic's Avatar
target-panic is offline
Charter Member
Rank Type

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cadillac & Western U.P.
Posts: 1,570
Photos: 75Users Photo Gallery
Default Could metal roof boost my antenna???

Remove this ad.....
become a Supporting Member today.
I have a hunting cabin in eastern Baraga Co. We usually only got one or two channels with rabbit ears. I have a converter box, but I haven't been up there to try it out yet.
I was wondering if I could wire my VHF / UHF antenna to my metal roof and maybe boost my signal a bit ? I remember running a wire to the window screens in the college dorms, and it seemed to work pretty well . Will this help? Any other imput on this idea?

Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)
__________________



Cabin Building Web Album
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2009, 08:51 PM
fsutroutbum fsutroutbum is offline
Guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Muskegon / Hoxeyville
Posts: 604
Photos: 1Users Photo Gallery
Default

I tried my converter box today with my rabbit ears and got zip! It said weak signal. I also have a metal roof and on the way home I was wondering the same thing.
Reply With Quote
Remove this ad...  
  #3  
Old 06-13-2009, 09:50 PM
giver108 giver108 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NW Wisconsin, back to Manistee someday
Posts: 1,041
Photos: 1Users Photo Gallery
Default

I don't know about the antenna issue but that sure is a nice little cabin you got there. Is that one of those that are built using a kit? Any pics of the interior?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2009, 10:27 PM
target-panic's Avatar
target-panic target-panic is offline
Charter Member
Rank Type

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cadillac & Western U.P.
Posts: 1,570
Photos: 75Users Photo Gallery
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by giver108 View Post
I don't know about the antenna issue but that sure is a nice little cabin you got there. Is that one of those that are built using a kit? Any pics of the interior?
Thanks! We love it! It's usually just Dad & I. It is hand scribed Amish built and then reassembled on our property. It's been an ongoing project for about 5 years, but it's been fun for Dad & I to work on it together. I don't have any digital pics of the inside, but I plan to take a few on my next trip up there.

Now.......anymore imput on the roof / antenna subject ?
__________________



Cabin Building Web Album
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2009, 04:19 AM
cireofmi's Avatar
cireofmi cireofmi is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Logan Township, Mason County
Posts: 1,819
Photos: 3Users Photo Gallery
Send a message via MSN to cireofmi Send a message via Yahoo to cireofmi
Default

Not an expert, but the metal roof should block the signal. Best bet would be to go with an outdoor antenna up on the higher part of the roof. Also, try the indoor antenna by the windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:33 AM
greyghost's Avatar
greyghost greyghost is offline
Guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mikado,Mi
Posts: 391
Photos: 3Users Photo Gallery
Default

Dont know about the tv but my cell phone dont work worth a crap inside a cabin with a metal roof. Dont seem like a very good antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:59 AM
bigcountrysg's Avatar
bigcountrysg bigcountrysg is offline
Michigan Sportsman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Willis Mi
Posts: 9,820
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Default

Your best off getting a dish, climb a tree and mount the dish so you have a clear view of the Southwest Sky. Then hook up the receiver inside the cabin.
__________________
Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)

Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)
1996-2003

"It'll take more then Duct Tape to fix it!"

www.camospace.com/bigcountrysg
www.facebook.com/bigcountrysg
www.myspace.com/bigcountrysg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2009, 06:04 AM
multibeard multibeard is offline
Michiganiac
Rank Type

 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: oceana county
Posts: 4,364
Photos: 73Users Photo Gallery
Default

Do you have a dish at home?

If you mount a dish on a tree it better be a big stiff tree. It the tree moves much in the wind you will get signal interuption.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2009, 06:41 AM
mike the pike mike the pike is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: plymouth , mi
Posts: 4,352
Photos: 164Users Photo Gallery
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by multibeard View Post
Do you have a dish at home?

If you mount a dish on a tree it better be a big stiff tree. It the tree moves much in the wind you will get signal interuption.

That what we found out the hard way
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:18 AM
bigcountrysg's Avatar
bigcountrysg bigcountrysg is offline
Michigan Sportsman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Willis Mi
Posts: 9,820
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Default

If your roof was flat, and your antenna mounted in the center of it. Then your roof would act like a ground plane for the antenna. Which then would boost your antenna reception.

But since your roof is peaked. Then it is actually reflecting the waves off it causing reception problems. Move the antenna away from the roof and your reception will improve.

Samething goes for the cell phones, radios, cb radios and other things.

Flat roofs absorb the transmission waves, where as a peaked roof reflects them.
__________________
Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)

Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)
1996-2003

"It'll take more then Duct Tape to fix it!"

www.camospace.com/bigcountrysg
www.facebook.com/bigcountrysg
www.myspace.com/bigcountrysg
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:31 AM
target-panic's Avatar
target-panic target-panic is offline
Charter Member
Rank Type

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cadillac & Western U.P.
Posts: 1,570
Photos: 75Users Photo Gallery
Default

I guess you guys aren't understanding my question. I realize that the metal roof will interrupt the signal inside the cabin.......on rabbit ears.......cel. phones......etc.......

My question was........... Can I run some antenna wire, and attach it to each corner of the roof, and then back to my set top VHF / UHF antenna to help amplify the signal. It would seem that If the wires were correct, it would turn the whole roof into a large antenna. Is my thinking flawed ???
__________________



Cabin Building Web Album
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:35 AM
bigcountrysg's Avatar
bigcountrysg bigcountrysg is offline
Michigan Sportsman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Willis Mi
Posts: 9,820
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by target-panic View Post
I guess you guys aren't understanding my question. I realize that the metal roof will interrupt the signal inside the cabin.......on rabbit ears.......cel. phones......etc.......

My question was........... Can I run some antenna wire, and attach it to each corner of the roof, and then back to my set top VHF / UHF antenna to help amplify the signal. It would seem that If the wires were correct, it would turn the whole roof into a large antenna. Is my thinking flawed ???
Your roof is peaked. It reflects the transmission waves you are trying to receive.

If your roof was flat then yest it would work. Because the flat roof would absorb the transmission wave.
__________________
Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)

Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)
1996-2003

"It'll take more then Duct Tape to fix it!"

www.camospace.com/bigcountrysg
www.facebook.com/bigcountrysg
www.myspace.com/bigcountrysg
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:48 AM
target-panic's Avatar
target-panic target-panic is offline
Charter Member
Rank Type

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cadillac & Western U.P.
Posts: 1,570
Photos: 75Users Photo Gallery
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcountrysg View Post
Your roof is peaked. It reflects the transmission waves you are trying to receive.

If your roof was flat then yest it would work. Because the flat roof would absorb the transmission wave.

So am I screwed?.......or is there a way to use this "reflection" to my advantage? I should also mention that my cabin sits very high up on a hill. Probably one of the highest points in the area. The landscpe drops down all around my location.

This "digital" switch has caused more confusion than Y2K.....
__________________



Cabin Building Web Album
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:52 AM
bigcountrysg's Avatar
bigcountrysg bigcountrysg is offline
Michigan Sportsman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Willis Mi
Posts: 9,820
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Default

Get a tower and mount the antenna on that. Search craigslist and other classifieds. You can usually find people giving these things away.

You need a tower that will go at least 10 ft taller then your peak of the roof.

There is nothing you can do to use the reflection of the roof to your advantage.

Except go from a steel roof to a shingled roof. But I highly don't recommend this.
__________________
Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)

Sound Off (MichiganForums.com)
1996-2003

"It'll take more then Duct Tape to fix it!"

www.camospace.com/bigcountrysg
www.facebook.com/bigcountrysg
www.myspace.com/bigcountrysg
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:14 AM
Banditto Banditto is offline
Michigan Sportsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: AllenPark
Posts: 8,265
Photos: 18Users Photo Gallery
Default

Big said it. TV signals are transmitted horizontally. If your roof had no pitch it would boost it. Since it is peaked it will reflect.

And btw my 14ft tower with a huge antenna mounted on the chimney does not receive the new digital signal... even tried several signal boosters with the same result.

They said after all analog is stopped they may be able to up the transmission power 10% but basically what it comes down to is the cable companies were tired of people getting free service so they devised a way to get people to switch over. voila'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2011 Michigan-Sportsman.com flagship of the iGreatLakes.com network