PDA

View Full Version : Indian arrowheads

hypox
08-31-2001, 02:38 PM
Ok,
The subject of finding arrowheads came up the other day. Looking for these things is something I have been doing for about 6 years now. I thought I would post a pic of a few that I have found over the years. I have a few other things I've found like fire starters, drills, ect. Anybody ever find any arrowheads or anything else??? Let's hear it, someone has to have found some cool stuff!!!

http://www.hunting-pictures.com/members/kzoodrew/arrowheads.jpg

Steve
08-31-2001, 03:20 PM
How and where (without being too specific) do you find those? What is the average number of hours spent afield per find?

jimbos43
08-31-2001, 03:36 PM
There's money in them there broadheads. Had a buddy who's now deceased that used to search every vacation for them in farmers fields in Virginia where his mother lived. He used to build small cabinets to categorize them but could keep up and had them laying in drawers all over his basement. My guess is he had over 5000 broadheads, these things were everywhere. Someone wanted to buy out the whole lot for 100 grand and he wouldn't sell.
It was pretty amazing how far the indians come along in their broadhead making. Heads from say 500 years a go, would be not much more then barely sharpened rock. To the ones like you found which may be 150 years old.
I wonder what ever happend to this collection, he was married 3 times, and was on the outs with #3. So keep looking someday someone will want to give you some dollars to make your retirement more comfortable.

Shoeman, you remember me mentioning the drunk railroad engineer and what he did to his beagle? This was the guy.

hypox
08-31-2001, 04:05 PM